The Next One

We are glad the worst kept secret in football has been put to rest. I wanted to stay off all the noise by not saying anything but I did a piece on Louis Van Gaal (LVG) this should also be permitted. Yeah I am talking about the announcement of Jose Mourinho as the new Manager of Manchester United. The Portuguese Manager who was sacked by Chelsea FC in December 2015 put pen to paper on a 3 year deal to take over as Manager from the sacked LVG days after the latter won the FA Cup. Jose Mourinho who regarded himself as ‘The Special One’ during his first spell at Chelsea in 2004 and ‘The Happy One’ in his second tenure has not adopted a new Moniker yet but for the time being I will tag him ‘The Next One’.

My Take on Mourinho’s Appointment?

I am a very big fan of Mourinho, I am always eager to listen to whatever he has to say after a game win, draw or lose. I am sure the British Press love him too for this reason but is he is really the right man for Man Utd? I don’t think so if I base my sentiments on tradition of the club but he could be a quick fix surely not a long term solution to the current quagmire at Old Trafford. I want to believe Jose Mourinho will deliver silverware (not sure of which) and I am not saying this because he’s done that everywhere he’s been to but his style of play will ensure we don’t ship in too much goals (quote me on this). Yeah I know I had high praises for LVG when he took the reins in 2014, but hiring or firing a coach or manager doesn’t lie in my hands I can only support my beloved club.

The 2016/17 English Premier League (EPL) season is going to be an interesting one no doubt with the advent of Pep Guardiola (Man City), the capture of Antonio Conte by Chelsea, the already existing presence of Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool), Slaven Bilic (Westham), Mauricio Pochettino (Tottenham), Monsieur Wenger (Arsenal) and Jose Mourinho (Man Utd).  I can only wish Rafa Benitez and Newcastle didn’t go down into the Championship because he would have made the league more lit. So we are already hearing the EPL has got the best managers now and the Spanish La Liga breeds the best players. I am sure we all can not wait for the new soccer season to start but first Copa America, Euro 2016 and the Olympics will whet our appetite on what is to come when the European season returns.

 

Thanks for your time guys. Do have a lovely weekend.

Leave a Reply

